Graveborn Musings—Uzai Niban: Sequel Desu

Last week I talked about some of the cards that I’ve found to be most annoying, beginning with an attempt to distinguish between cards that are merely strong and those which are going to consistently used for the purpose of making life difficult for your opponents. Today, I have two goals: expose how crappy I am at speaking Japanese (check!), and explore some of the strategic implications of leaning on annoying cards in your decks.

My name is Daryl, and I'm a griefer

I should begin by confessing that I am a bit of a griefer[1] myself; many of my 60-card decks are less than pleasant to play against, and I’m a huge fan of such griefer strategies as discard, landkill and milling, especially in casual duels. Don’t get me wrong, I’m an aggro player first and foremost, but when I branch out, I tend to end up with an excessively controlling strategy.[2] My Commander decks tend to be less aggravating, due to the nature of the social contract that has evolved in my group, but the point I’m trying to make is that I am not trying to pass judgment on people who are drawn to these cards. My name is Daryl and I’m a griefer.

Not everything is better with a jetpack

That being said, I’m not a fan of so-called ‘chaos decks,’ meaning decks that are primarily designed to annoy people and/or whittle down everyone’s life total rather than target any particular player for elimination.[3] To me, multiplayer Magic is chaotic enough already, just because you’ve added more players. While I love that complexity, I’m not convinced that adding new layers of complexity with a torrent of annoying cards is going to improve the group’s experience. After all, I love watching basketball because it’s fast, but I don’t think the game would necessarily get better if all the players wore jetpacks. I’m also a big fan of the UFC, but somehow I doubt that giving each fighter a chainsaw would add anything to the sport. Sometimes more is less.

However, time and again I’ve seen people build those ‘classic’ chaos decks, turn the whole game upside down and inside out, and then complain when they get taken out. I’ve got some bad news for you brother: if you play a griefer deck, you can’t whine when you get taken out, for three very good reasons.

Annoying Deck is Annoying

OK, this may not be the strongest strategic justification for taking someone out, but if you play annoying cards, people are going to get annoyed, and it’s human nature—or perhaps animal nature—to strike back against the source of that annoyance. I’ve lost track of the number of times I’ve heard some variation of: “Why are you attacking me? My deck isn’t designed to win, it just annoys people.” Dude, I think you just answered your own question. The bottom line is that, if a deck is designed to elicit an emotional reaction, then you can’t really complain if people are reacting emotionally.

Winter Orb: played by A-holes since Alpha

On top of that, I’ve noticed a kind of balancing effect at work against chaos decks, where the player who goes after the chaos deck is likely to be left alone. If Brent is playing that goddamn deck again, I might be very happy to see someone else trying to kill him, even if I don’t think he’s the biggest threat to me. Why would I attack someone who is trying to remove the thorn from my side? Sometimes you can even get away with casting some huge friggin’ guy if you assure the rest of the table that it’s heading for the controller of the Winter Orb. Even if an opponent is enjoying what a chaos deck brings to the table, they might be relieved to see it go, so those emotional reactions are often given free rein by the rest of the table.

My Brain Hurts

As I said last week, a truly annoying card is usually going to be a permanent that has a sustained impact on your decision making, so the number of things that players have to remember each turn, and the number of variables they have to consider when making longer-term plans, can drastically increase once a chaos deck gets rolling. It’s not unusual to see people just snap at some point and decide that it is easier to kill the griefer than to keep track of all of those triggers, and I honestly think that’s more than an emotional reaction. At some point, you may lose the ability to control your own path to victory, and then simplifying the board state becomes a valid strategy in its own right.

With just a little help, even a Muse can be annoying.

On top of that, the interactions between individual cards which is such a big part of multiplayer fun become more tricky—and therefore more dangerous—by an order of magnitude when the chaos starts flowing. The other night, Nick/Wrexial played Dreamborn Muse, and we started milling ourselves at a frantic pace. I wasn’t worried, because I try to include an Eldrazi titan in every Commander deck (flavor permitting) for just such an eventuality.

But when Brent played Bloodchief Ascension and Polluted Bonds, the rest of us spent the next round[4] paralyzed, afraid of what an active Ascension would do to us when we were being milled for seven cards a turn. In this particular case, I was able to kill the Muse easily (I smashed Nick for seven with Thrax and he thanked me!), but in another case, when a relatively innocuous card like Dreamborn Muse suddenly becomes a clear and present danger because of how it interacts with the chaos deck, it might be in everyone’s best interests to take that deck out.

Platinum Persecutor

Gaddock Teeg: Pissing players off since Lorwyn

In multiplayer strategy, you should always try to identify the greatest threat and hit them hardest, but chaos decks can greatly complicate that threat assessment process. Is the greatest threat to me the person who can kill me fastest (for example, Humility is in play and the token mage is the threat because they are threatening to overrun the table, literally or figuratively) or the person who is stopping me from winning (for example, Humility is the threat because as long as it’s on the battlefield, I can’t cast the Massacre Wurm in my hand to wipe out the token mage)?

No matter what your path to victory might be, the chaos deck can mess with it, and when they do, they might just become your biggest threat. Looking to sac Lord of Extinction to Greater Good and then win with a Living Death? You have to take out the player with Leyline of the Void first. Ready to draw a ton of cards with Blue Sun’s Zenith and then beat down with a phalanx of Psychosis Crawlers? That smug git with two copies of Chains of Mephistopheles is going to have to die first. Going to blow everyone away with a massive Comet Storm? Not until you Shock Gaddock Teeg. In other words, it doesn’t matter if the chaos deck is trying to win or not; what matters is whether it’s standing between you and the prize.

Conclusion

There are often times when I love watching the rest of the table struggle to deal with a chaos deck, because I know that it affects me less than everyone else. I mean, Painful Quandary lives up to its name and then some, but if I have Cruel Ultimatum and Nucklavee in hand, I’m happy to weather that storm. Once I get Seedborn Muse online, Winter Orb becomes my best friend. And my Weenie decks love cards like Meekstone. On the other hand, there will be times when I’m suffering more from some annoying card that anyone else, because it cripples either my board position, the cards in my hand, or my overall strategy. When that happens, I’m likely to take Captain Annoying down as fast as I can, just to get my plans back on track, and their protests that they aren’t really trying to kill me won’t make any difference at all.


[1] WotC’s classifies Magic players as Timmies, Johnnies and Spikes, based on what motivates them to play the game, but within those categories there are finer distinctions. Tom LaPille explained the griefer subtype and how they relate to other Timmies in an article called The Yang of Timmy: “Just like other Timmies, ‘griefers’…are looking to experience something. Unlike other Timmies, however, the experience that the griefers want is the experience of their opponents squirming in misery.” Griefers basically enjoy watching you lose more than they like winning.

[2] Part of this might just be that I’m not great at building control decks, to be honest; the best control decks will slow your opponents down to the point where they can’t deal with your clock in time, but I tend to forget about the clock when I build control decks. Usually the griefing complements my path to victory, like a discard deck that wins with an Umbilicus/Megrim lock or a landkill deck that paves the way for Greater Harvester. If I’m being honest with myself, though, I think my ideal control deck would recur cards like Cranial Extraction and Sadistic Sacrament until nobody else had any business cards left, and then wait for them to deck themselves, which I now realize may be less fun for my opponents than me. A better strategy, which I’m using in my FNM deck, is to use cards like Duress and Memoricide to strip out any answers to Phyrexian Obliterator, and then use the Obliterators to beat them to death quickly.

[3] I think there is a fine line between a deck that plans to get everyone down to single digit life totals and then turn into a serial killer, and decks that don’t really have a plan other than to make the game environment as complex and painful as possible. The latter are what I would think of as ‘classic’ chaos decks, but a lot of folks (Andy from CommanderCast comes to mind) include the former in the same category. Maybe it’s not a fine line, just a spectrum, but I intuitively believe that there is a difference between cards like Earthquake or Exsanguinate, which hurt everyone else and therefore scale well in multiplayer, and cards like Painful Quandary, which make life difficult for your opponents while hurting them. I’d love to hear what you think.

[4] I’ve started using “round” to refer to a sequence of turns. I hope this doesn’t confuse any bi-curious casual/tournament players, but it seems worth adding to the casual lexicon, instead of saying “until it was my next turn,” and so on. Please tell me if it’s too confusing.

About Graveborn Muse

Daryl Bockett has been an avid Magic addict since Legends/Revised. He lives and breathes deckbuilding and casual play. "The more the merrier" is his creed! In those brief moments when he isn't playing, reading or thinking about Magic, he teaches at Rikkyo University in Tokyo. He has a Ph.D. in International Relations, which is basically only useful for helping him to understand the strategic interactions at a multiplayer table.
This entry was posted in Graveborn Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Graveborn Musings—Uzai Niban: Sequel Desu

  1. archaism says:

    I like round. I’m sure the different context will sate the bi-curious.

  2. Jesse says:

    As I’m sure Bruce can confirm, I tend to be more on the side of chaos in our playgroup. I don’t want to go all crazy and quote the Joker about how chaos is fair but when you’re facing down five opponents, sometimes a little anarchy goes a long way.

    I have one deck that is pure chaos – if it gets to six mana, the game as you know it is absolutely over. The only removal is Wild Swing and Capricious Efreet, while Grip of Chaos, Scrambleverse and Warp World ruin everyone else’s plans. The best part is that once the deck is going, I literally have very little control over it.

    On the other side of the spectrum is that our group has a social contract that basically says “no infinite combos.” That means many of my finely honed decks, like Deathrender, gather dust so I’m forced to adapt. So instead I made an Underworld Dreams/Spiteful Visions deck to basically say, “Either I’m dead in two turns or all of you are. Those are the only options.” It forces people to do SOMETHING.

    In multiplayer, far too many people sit around and do nothing. When turn 4 rolls around, if you haven’t cast a spell then you, in my mind, are a target. To me, doing nothing is worse than doing something.

    I would rather go down in a blaze of glory fighting off four other players for fifteen minutes than sit around and do nothing for an hour.

    • Graveborn Muse says:

      I have a deck build around Dreams/Visions (and Sangromancer to keep me alive – great with Burning Inquiry) and I’d consider that a Punisher archetype rather than a Chaos deck. That may be semantics, but the objective is clearly to kill everyone else quickly without dying yourself; discard functions as disruption and a wincon, and annoyance is secondary.
      Regarding the something/nothing distinction, a lot of it depends on your meta, but it seems like a false choice to me. You know what else forces people to do something? Creatures. I don’t generally subscribe to the “try not to draw attention to yourself” school of thought but I find that most decks are able to push the action if nobody else is making a move, without needing to be purpose-built. I like decks like Thrax, Kresh (or zombies in sixties; I’m just playing way too much Commander 😉 that can start out fast or slow as the game requires, but are explosive enough to recover from sweepers in the mid-game and take folks out before another stalemate develops.

  3. Kuchi says:

    The first chaos deck I ever played against included the now rather useless Citadel of Pain and Manabarbs. All of us hated it, just not the guy whose deck it was. He played it again and again and was always killed first. And as you said, he usually started complaining and whining right away, like “I didn’t do anything to you!” or “I’m just playing fair! I hurt each of you at the same time!” The saddest part of that story is that it was his only deck, and he always refused playing decks he didn’t own… Man, that was about twelve or so years ago!
    Nowadays, we have an Intet-deck in our Commander group which just annoys people with hits like Knowledge Pool, Hive Mind (thankfully no Pacts, though), Mana Maze and similar stuff. It’s usually my first target because it always f…s up my game plan.
    Something else, though, is our so-called Chaos Stack. We created it some time ago when we just shuffled up a number of cards with general effects (like the ones I mentioned above; others would be Howling Mine and friends, Wheel of Fate, Living Death, Saproling Cluster, Upwelling etc.) into a random stack and added new cards from time to time. The basic rules are:
    Before each player start their turn, they have to roll a die. If the result is a 6, the player reveals the top card of the Chaos Stack and its effect happens if it is a Sorcery or an Instant. Otherwise, if it is a permanent with a static ability (i.e. Night of Souls’ Betrayal), the ability counts until the next 6 comes up (which can take extremely long sometimes…). We have also decided (after many, many discussions and difficult in-game situations) that these effects don’t use the stack and thus can not be responded to. The Chaos Stack is therefore completely untouchable.
    It is now almost a hundred cards big – and growing with each set.
    This is something everybody agrees with because we can decide WHEN to use it. If somebody is not in the mood for some randomness, we just leave it aside and everything is fine.
    So, try it out! Just be careful of adding too many cards with negative effects. It is usually a lot more fun to reveal things like Warp World, Mass Hysteria, Exhume, Rites of Flourishing or even the harmless-looking Samite Sanctuary than destructive or prohibitive things like mass removal, Rule of Law or Ankh of Mishra. You should aim at finding the right balance, but if you do, it is a nice alternative to the normal Free-for-All.

    • Jesse says:

      Don’t run Possessed Portal in that stack!

    • Graveborn Muse says:

      I was actually putting a stack together when Planechase was released, but Planechase is more popular in my meta (meaning nobody has any interest in my stack 😦
      You’re right about balance. i tried to include an equal number of cards that facilitated and hindered each strategy, so there:s a WoG and a Winds of Rath but also a Coat of Arms and a Junkyo Bell; Phyrexian Tyranny and Howling Mine; Winter orb and mana Flare; Kismet and Mass hysteria. I also like the idea of throwing in sorceries. Why not add a Demonic or Vampiric Tutor?

      • Kuchi says:

        We have always had a few instants and sorceries in our stack but usually, they were effects that affected all players, like Burning Inquiry, Mnemonic Nexus or Twilight’s Call. Then I had the idea to spice things up a little by adding cards that are useful only to the player who threw the 6. The others were a little bit sceptical though, so I had to think of cards that were not seen as too powerful, for example the tutors you mentioned.
        What I added? Things like Stitch in Time (Yeah, I know. Talk about an extra turn not being powerful… But it seems random enough that the others love it!), Squee’s Revenge and Drastic Revelation.
        By the way, the superstars of our Chaos Stack are:
        – Heartbeat of Spring, Rites of Flourishing, Font of Mythos: Suddenly, people start playing Magic… 😉
        – Fecundity: Everybody starts attacking left and right just to draw some cards. Every creature seems to become a card draw version of Kokusho. Weird!
        – Warp World: Obviously, a game can be put on its head – and usually is!
        – Hypergenesis: The fastest game I ever played just happened last week and involved the starting player rolling a 6 and revealing this. The board was clogged with fatties, one of which was a Rune-Scarred Demon. There is your tutor…
        Nonetheless, Hypergenesis always nets you loads of fun!
        – Mind Unbound: Can you imagine the looks people throw each other before each turn? It begins harmless enough, but with each upkeep the number of cards a player draws increases. It goes from “Don’t throw a 6. I want to draw some cards, too!” over “Yeah, when my turn comes again, I’ll draw seven!” to “Please! Somebody throw a 6 or I’ll deck myself!” Hilarious!
        – Noggle Ransacker: It’s just too cute how, after the effect, everybody looks at his or her hand and tries to figure out if the result was postive or negative. Burning Inquiry works in a similar way but is more drastic.

        Concerning Planechase: At first, the same thing happened in my playgroup, but suddenly, it became obvious that we do not like most of the planes. There are some exceptions of course, but not many. So we turned back to my Chaos Stack. That is fine with me, hehe! 😉

  4. Vrag says:

    I wouldn’t really consider myself a griefer. I only really have a few decks where people go “oh no it’s that deck”. My stasis deck has a pretty quick win condition. I’d say the only real griefer decks I have are my bribery deck that just destroys someone’s library, and my land destruction deck that I’ve never had the need to play. I have a warp world deck, but odds are I’m going to win soon if it lands.
    When I play multiplayer, I don’t play to win. I consider it a win if I had a major impact on the game. If I can win of course I try. I find it much more fun to win with some weird gamestate than with some random beat deck.
    Still, I try to avoid cards that aren’t fun. I’d much rather play Swans of Bryn Argoll than Winter Orb. I’d rather play Weird Harvest then Tempting Wurm, than play Humility and Aether Flash.
    For me, the most important thing is that the group has fun. If I create a deck that hinders this, I usually take it apart. If it’s a really good deck and doesn’t drag things on forever, then I’ll just play it very infrequently.

Leave a Reply

